Athlétisme
Natation
Netball
Cyclisme
Judo
Basket 3x3
Futsal

Swimming

Swimming is the set of activities practiced in water such as swimming in a basin (swimming pool) or outdoors (open water). Swimming has been an Olympic sport since 1896 for men and 1912 for women.

There are 4 types of swimming in competitive swimming: breaststroke, freestyle, backstroke and butterfly, and two different pool lengths: the 25m small pool and the 50m large pool. The latter is the one that hosts the Olympic competitions every 4 years.

The breaststroke, backstroke and butterfly cover 3 distances: the 50, 100 and 200 meters. In theory, freestyle allows all styles of swimming, but in practice the front crawl, the fastest stroke, is used. It has 3 additional distances: the 400, the 800 and the 1,500 meters.

Of the 40 events practiced, only 32 are contested at the Olympic Games. The 50-meter butterfly, backstroke and breaststroke as well as the 800-meter freestyle for women and the 1500-meter freestyle for men are not part of the Olympic program. They are contested in other competitions such as the World or European Championships.

OPEN WATER

Open water swimming has been an Olympic discipline since the Beijing Games in 2008 which is held in a natural environment. The 10 km event is the only one to have entered the Olympic program.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • TIC Tac

Athlétisme
Natation
Netball
Cyclisme
Judo
Basket 3x3
Futsal

Natation

La natation est l’ensemble des activités pratiquées dans l’eau comme la nage en bassin (piscine) ou en extérieur (eau libre). La natation est un sport olympique depuis 1896 pour les hommes et 1912 pour les femmes.

Il existe 4 types de nage en compétition de natation : la brasse, la nage libre, le dos et le papillon, et deux longueurs différentes de bassin : le petit bassin de 25 m et le grand bassin de 50 m. Ce dernier est celui qui accueille les compétitions olympiques tous les 4 ans.

La brasse, le dos et le papillon regroupent 3 distances : le 50, le 100 et le 200 mètres. En théorie, la nage libre autorise tous les styles de nage, mais en pratique c’est le crawl, la nage la plus rapide, qui est utilisée. Elle possède 3 distances supplémentaires : le 400, le 800 et le 1 500 mètres.

Sur les 40 épreuves pratiquées, seules 32 sont disputées aux jeux olympiques. Les 50 mètres papillon, dos et brasse ainsi que le 800 mètres nage libre chez les femmes et le 1 500 mètres nage libre chez les hommes ne font pas partie du programme olympique. Elles sont disputées dans les autres compétitions comme les championnats du monde ou d’Europe.

EAU LIBRE

La natation en eau libre est une discipline olympique depuis les Jeux de Pékin en 2008 qui se tient en milieu naturel. L’épreuve du 10 km est la seule à avoir intégré le programme olympique.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon